Facebook Pixel

Merits And Sunnah Of The 9th and 10th Of Dhul-Hijjah

by | Jun 9, 2017

Join Us Today

AlQuranClasses offers 1-on-1 classes at the comfort of your home under highly qualified Ustad and Ustadah. Our vision is to spread the light of the Quran among Muslims. Hurry up! Book your Free Trial of Quran Recitation with Tajweed Rules, Hifz Quran with Tarteel, and Quranic Duas.
AlQuranClasses offers a Quran Recitation course, Hifz Quran, and Quranic Duas. Book a Free Trial.
Start Free Trial

Sunnahs Of 9th And 10th Of Dhul Hijjah

9th Dhul-Hijjah

After praying Fajr the next day (9th of Dhul-Hijjah), proceed to ‘Arafat.’ The pilgrims should reach ‘Arafat just before the Dhuhr prayer. 10th dul-hajj

At ‘Arafat, the pilgrim combines the ‘Asr with their Dhuhr prayer so they have more time to make dua. 

The pilgrim’s the opportunity to make as many supplications as possible until sunset while facing the Qiblah. Once Maghrib approaches, the pilgrims make their way to Muzdalifah. Try to reach there before midnight. Once the pilgrims go to Muzdalifah, they pray the combined prayers of Isha and Maghrib. 

The pilgrim should pick up 49 pebbles from Muzdalifah so they can use these stones later. Keep in mind that you must pick up stones, not large rocks. The pilgrims spend the night in Muzdalifah, praying Fajr the next day and making tremendous supplications.

On the 10th Dhul-Hijjah, the pilgrims return to Mina just before sunrise.

10th Dhul-Hijjah

A busy day and there are several rites the pilgrim must complete.

After spending the night at Muzdalifah, the pilgrims pray Fajr the next day and make great supplication. Shortly before sunrise, the pilgrims set out for Mina.

At Mina, the pilgrims recite the Talbiyah, make their way towards the largest Jamarah, Al-Aqabah, and perform Ramy (stoning of the devil). The pilgrim throws seven pebbles, one at a time, at the Jamarah while saying Allahu Akbar each time they throw their cobblestones. After the Ramy, the pilgrim should stop reciting the Talbiyah and begin reciting the Takbir:


اللهُ أكْبَرُ اللهُ أكْبَرُلاَ الَهَ الاَّ اللهُ وَ اللهُ أكْبَرُ اللهُ أكْبَرُ وَ لِلهِ اَلْحَمْدُ

“Allahu Akbar, Allahu Akbar, La alpha illalah, Allahu Akbar, Allahu Akbar, wa lillah-il-hamd”) 

(Allah is the Greatest! Allah is the Greatest! There is nothing worthy of worship except Allah. Allah is the Greatest! Allah is the Greatest! And to Allah belongs all praise and thanks.”

The Takbir should recite until Asr on the 13th Dhul-Hijjah, especially after the fard prayers.

After the Ramy, the pilgrims sacrifice an animal and are usually included in the Hajj packages. After the sacrifice, the men shave their hair, and the women cut approximately one inch of hair.

With this completed, the Ihram is partially lifted, allowing the pilgrim to wear regular clothes. However, the pilgrim is forbidden from engaging in marital relations.


With all these rites completed, the pilgrim heads to Makkah to perform the second most crucial pillar of Hajj: Tawaaf-al-Ifadah. 10th and

The pilgrim completes seven circumambulations of the Kaaba, walking regularly.

After the Tawaf, pray two rakyat Salah at Maqam Ibrahim as before

Then perform Sa’ee (seven circuits between Safa and Marwah)

With these rites completed, the pilgrim is free from the restrictions of the Ihram.

The pilgrim returns to Mina and spends the night there. These are the Sunnahs of the 9th and 10th Dhul-Hijjah.

Animal Sacrifice- Nahr

After the Rami, the pilgrims are advised to sacrifice slaughtered animals, camels, goats, or lambs or purchase sacrifice coupons or vouchers, stating that the sacrifice has been made on their behalf. 

This ritual also goes back to Prophet Ibrahim when Allah commanded him to sacrifice His son Ismail as a testament of faith. Ibrahim was willing to execute when Allah commanded him to sacrifice an animal instead of as a reward for his unwavering faith at the last minute. 

Pilgrims followed Prophet Muhammad’s teachings during his farewell pilgrimage when he sacrificed a few camels, ate little of what they sacrificed then gave the rest for charity. 

It is mentioned in the Quran, 

وَأَتِمُّوا۟ ٱلْحَجَّ وَٱلْعُمْرَةَ لِلَّهِ ۚ فَإِنْ أُحْصِرْتُمْ فَمَا ٱسْتَيْسَرَ مِنَ ٱلْهَدْىِ ۖ وَلَا تَحْلِقُوا۟ رُءُوسَكُمْ حَتَّىٰ يَبْلُغَ ٱلْهَدْىُ مَحِلَّهُۥ ۚ فَمَن كَانَ مِنكُم مَّرِيضًا أَوْ بِهِۦٓ أَذًى مِّن رَّأْسِهِۦ فَفِدْيَةٌ مِّن صِيَامٍ أَوْ صَدَقَةٍ أَوْ نُسُكٍ ۚ فَإِذَآ أَمِنتُمْ فَمَن تَمَتَّعَ بِٱلْعُمْرَةِ إِلَى ٱلْحَجِّ فَمَا ٱسْتَيْسَرَ مِنَ ٱلْهَدْىِ ۚ فَمَن لَّمْ يَجِدْ فَصِيَامُ ثَلَٰثَةِ أَيَّامٍ فِى ٱلْحَجِّ وَسَبْعَةٍ إِذَا رَجَعْتُمْ ۗ تِلْكَ عَشَرَةٌ كَامِلَةٌ ۗ ذَٰلِكَ لِمَن لَّمْ يَكُنْ أَهْلُهُۥ حَاضِرِى ٱلْمَسْجِدِ ٱلْحَرَامِ ۚ وَٱتَّقُوا۟ ٱللَّهَ وَٱعْلَمُوٓا۟ أَنَّ ٱللَّهَ شَدِيدُ ٱلْعِقَابِ

And complete the hajj and ‘umrah for Allāh. But if you are prevented, then [offer] what can be obtained with ease of sacrificial animals.

And do not shave your head until the sacrificial animal has reached its place of slaughter. And whoever among you is ill or has an ailment of the head [making shaving necessary must offer] a ransom of fasting [three days] or charity or sacrifice.

And when you are secure, whoever performs ‘umrah [during the hajj months] followed by Hajj [offers] what can be obtained with ease of sacrificial animals.

And whoever cannot find [or afford such an animal] – then a fast of three days during Hajj and seven when you have returned [home]. Those are ten complete [days]. This is for those whose family is not in the area of al-Masjid al-Harām. And fear Allāh and know that Allāh is severe in retribution.
(AlQuran 2:196)

Halq or Taqsir 

After animal sacrifice, Pilgrim men must cut their hair or shave it completely. And for the women, it’s typically cutting just a single lock of hair. 

Note: If the pilgrim cannot perform Tawaf al Ifadah on the 10th Dhul-Hijjah, they can perform it on the 11th or 12th of Dhul-Hijjah.


Interested? Let’s Get Started

Subscribe to our newsletter to receive notifications of our latest blogs

Share This